Beer 28 – Ken Schmidt / Maui / Stone Kona Coffee Macadamia Coconut Porter

Style: American Porter

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Super smooth coconut and nut flavor

Will I be drinking this again: If I can find it… yes

Grade: A+

12/6/2009: Longest beer name ever right? This beer was a three way collaboration between Stone’s head brewer, Maui’s head brewer, and a famous home brewer. Sets of three are usually a good thing, 3 stooges, 3 rivers (da burgh), 3 somes? Sure why not. Okay maybe 3 mile island didn’t turn out so well but theres always an exception to the rule.

When I purchased this I didn’t realize it was such a rare beer, and now I know why. I would have to say this might be the best porter I have EVER had. Mild coffee hits you first, then a savory nutty type flavor, and the aftertaste has a small hit of coconut. It all blends perfect. The only thing that would have made this better would be a smidgen more coconut flavor. If you come across this one, get a few because you will want more. I paid 6 bucks for one and it was WELL worth it.

Published in: on December 6, 2009 at 10:51 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/beer-28-ken-schmidt-maui-stone-kona-coffee-macadamia-coconut-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, awesome blog. This isn’t commenting on this beer in particular, just happened to be the most recent. I’m certainly not even close to educated at all about beer, so most of this is jargon, but it sure sounds delicious.

    Anyway, great idea, enjoy the rest of them!

    • Thanks for looking! How did you find my blog if you are not into beer?

      • Well, I am into beer, just not *into* beer, hehe. I enjoyed the read, even though I didn’t understand all of it, I’m certainly more curious about it now though, I’ll have to experiment/taste/etc.

        • haha gotcha… Well if you end up trying any “craft” beer come back and let me know. I see you are from Australia so I have no idea what types of beer you get down there or I would suggest some for you.

          • Yeah, I linked my beer friend to the blog and he was upset because he couldn’t get most of these, hehe, but he said the ones he had tried were awesome, so yeah.

  2. Mugsy and Jugsy *loved* this beer – for better or worse, we tried it before we were officially blogging about beer! Really enjoy your site… you’ve given us something to aspire to!

    • Thanks so much for the compliment and thanks for reading. I will add your blog to my blogroll.


Leave a Reply

