Beer 25 – Delirium Nocturnum

Style: Belgian Strong Dark Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Apple Tartness

Will I be drinking this again: Is there a elephant pink on the label?

Grade: A

12/3/2009: Delirium Nocturnum Loosely translates to “Crazy at Night.” So is it safe to assume that Tiger’s wife was drinking one of these, started seeing little pink elephants dancing around and went a little crazy? I mean who would believe that she was actually mad over one silly little affair. Okay maybe two three or a few dozen affairs. Regardless my explanation sounds much more plausible.

But seriously this stuff is top notch. There is a reason Brouwerij Huyghe (The place that brews Delirium) held the title for best beer in the world at one point. Delirium tastes like brown sugar mixed with granny smith apples. And contrary to my prior statement the beer does not make you crazy, at all. Although you might be crazy if you are a true beer geek and have not yet tried this one.

Have you tried a similar beer that you think is better? Let me know in the comments section below!

Published in: on December 3, 2009 at 6:48 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/beer-25-delirium-tremens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Noctornum is a classic Belgian, definitely worth the price of admission. Drew I’d recommend their Noel if you haven’t tried it yet

  2. very nice blog dude.
    i must say that beer looks super. i dont try too many different beers, but i think i would try this.

    • Thanks! not sure what type of beer you like but this is a very drinkable beer.

  3. Ive become a little bit bitter (excuse the pun) after living in Belgium perhaps too long. I have started to find most Belgian ales too sweet or over powering (http://stevehynd.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/the-dark-side-of-real-ale/). There nearest thing I have tried (and really liked) recently was Wickwar breweries IKB. A (almost chocolatly) dark ale from South Gloucestershire!

    • you lived in Belgium!!?? So jealous!

      Do they distribute Wickbar in the US?

      I would have to say my favorite belgian is trappistes rochefort 8

  4. This is such a great blog idea.. maybe I’ll go down your list and make trying beers my next goal (: but don’t worry.. I’ll leave the blogging up to you!

    • Thanks!! I have 4-5 I am going to update tonight, and will be adding one per day from here on in. Thanks for reading.

      • If ya don’t mind me asking.. is vintage estate only in youngstown OH? Thats kinda close to me (:

        • its actually in boardman.. and if you are even remotely close to their I would suggest going. Its AMAZING. Not only do they have a ton of good beer at low prices, but they also have A huge selection of wine.

          When you go in ask for Phil and tell him Drew sent ya!!

          • oh thats awesome. I’m with family right now in OH (where i’ve lived most my life) but its still 2 hours away from here. Maybe on my way back to sc I’ll have to take a detour and stop by.. I’m getting into wines now, theres a lot of wine lovers where I live.

  5. Man, if I could get into the taste of beer I bet this would be an awesome thing to do myself, but unfortunately, I am not a beer kind of girl. I recently started my won blog too: http://www.theverbosevixen.wordpress.com! You should check it out and lemme know what you think!

    • Checking it out now… You do not like beer at all? I am sure there are some out there that you would like. Maybe give Lindemans Framboise a shot. They have a few different fruit flavors and most beer shops carry them.

  6. I got introduced to Delirium Nocturnum about 4 years ago. It is an excellent beer; kinda tastes like a cross between a dry Belgium and a cider. It is not readily available, I can only find it in bars and stores that markets and prides itself about its beer selection. It is a bonus when they serve it in its special glass. Delirium also has a good christmas ale that I’ve found in the Total Wine in Jacksonville, Florida.

    Good pick.

    Kellen

    • Yes I plan on trying the noel soon. I hear its amazing. Its about $7.00 a bottle at shops here in Pittsburgh.

  7. I like the blog Drew. It great having you at Vintage. We have alot of seasonal beers in now. This is a fun time of year. If you go to my website, you will see pictures of the Belgian beers that we currently have too.

    Keep up the good work.
    Phill

    • Thanks Phil! I am sure I will be back up in the next couple of weeks since I am down to 10 singles. Do you guys have any Yulesmith left?

  8. Great blog. I am doing a similar one on Belgian Beer – am going from 1 to 1000 !
    Easier for me as I live in UK and get over to Belgium regularly to stock up my cellar. I will link to your site. Would be good for you to do same for me if you can. I think I could enjoy the US craft beer scene as well

    http://www.belgianbeershrimper.wordpress.com

    Stuart

  9. If you like this one, try the Tremens from Delirium. It’s a strong Belgium white with a very sweet taste and amazing body. Plus, MORE pink elephants on the label.

    Yes, Delirium Tremens, the DTs.


Leave a Reply

