Beer 24 – Founders Breakfast Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Great combo of flavors

Will I be drinking this again: Absolutely

Grade: A-

12/2/09: This beer has been lab tested and sampled by thousands of babies, and they all approved by vomiting profusely. Okay not really but who knows it might quiet down a cranky baby if you give it a spoonful like the label shows? Beer is some damn good medicine and I have a feeling my mom spoon fed me beer as a child. That would explain a lot.

Anyways onto the beer. This stuff is damn tasty. I would let this one sit out of the fridge for about 10 minutes to get a little bit warm because its much more flavorful that way. Bold but smooth coffee and chocolate flavor. Oddly it also has a little bit of a buttered toast taste to it.

Have you tried a similar beer that you think is better? Let me know in the comments section below!

Published in: on December 2, 2009 at 11:09 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/02/beer-15-founders-breakfast-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Definitely an A, I attended the release party here in NJ just a year ago, now you can find them everywhere!

  2. No doubt this beer is unreal, but IMO the Bell’s Java Stout is slightly better, and to go even a notch above that, Hitachino Nest Espresso Stout is absolutely incredible. Though the Hitachino is roughly $5 for a 12oz, therefore not nearly as sessionable as FBS, but definitely worth buying one or two for a try.

  3. Scott:

    I actually just drank the Bells Java but didnt post it up yet. It was good but I still prefer the Founders, just seemed a bit smoother to me.

    And I actually have a hitachino espresso sitting in my fridge… Maybe I will crack that one open tomorrow. (Have been saving it for when the girlfriend is around because she loves trying coffee/espresso stouts)

  4. The smoothness of the Java Stout is what makes it slightly better to me, but that’s just my opinion and that’s why there are so many different kinds. Try not to share too much of the Hitachino, or you’ll regret it later when you are desperately craving some more, that is unless you have several bottles. I’m interested to see what you think of it.

  5. I know I mentioned it to you before Drew, but Southern Tier’s Moh-Ka is also an awesome one your gf will love.

    • I can’t find it anywhere? That or the chocolat. The brewery is only about a 3 hour drive and near Erie Pa. I might take a ride up there some weekend to check it out.

  6. Have to try this one out, not sure about the baby on the label though.

    • Yeah I have no idea what relevance the baby has but it tastes good haha


Leave a Reply

