Beer 398/365 – Professor Fritz Briem 1809 Berliner Weisse

Professor Fritz Briem 1809 Berliner Weisse

Style: Berliner Weissbier

ABV: 5.0% ABV

Purchased at: I don’t even remember at this point!

What makes this beer different: My first Berliner Weisse, so not sure what the standard is.

Will I be drinking this again: I would! But I only remember seeing it once on store shelves.

Grade: A-

10/13/2011: I can’t believe its been almost 5 months since I have updated an actual beer on this site. When I realized I was so close to beer 400, I figured I had to at least gut that out. Although I would love to make it to 500 someday.

Onto the beer. I picked this one up because of a suggestion from a friend who said it was a great beer, and a great style of beer. Had to read up a bit on the style before sampling this because I have only had one beer of this style before. To over simplify, sounds like its a traditional wheat beer with a sour kick. Lots of head on the initial pour, and you could smell the sourness without even putting your nose up to it. Also a musty lemon type smell. Again to over simply if I had to describe this to a non-beer drinking friend, I would say this tastes like a lighter sour version of a traditional wheat. Lots of tang, but not too much. Oddly thirst quenching, and thirst inducing at the same time. Would love the find more of this for a hot summer day. Pretty unique and worth trying if you stumble across it!

Picture of the day: If you are what you eat

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/10/13/beer-398365-professor-fritz-briem-1809-berliner-weisse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Bruery’s Hottenroth is a great readily available Berliner Weisse, though its got a hefty $ tag and only comes in at 3% abv.

  2. Looks like a damn fine beer. Great photo too! I’ll have to hunt this one down.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  3. Thank you for introducing this unique beer.Beer lovers should check it how unique it is from others and make it their favorite if it is so. Attractive post. Cheers………….

  4. Hey man.. where are you these days?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

