Beer 397/365 – Maine Beer Company Zoe

Maine Beer Company Zoe

Style: American Amber

ABV: 7.2%

Purchased at: Sent to me by Jared in a trade

What makes this beer different: Very hop heavy for an Amber, but thats a good thing!

Will I be drinking this again: Due to lack of distribution, no.

Grade: A-

5/24/2011: So many changes in my life lately. I try not to post personal stuff on my blog too much, but over the weekend I had two family members pass away within an hour of each other. Needless to say my family is in a bit of shock right now, so as usual I missed my Monday update. I am still going update twice a week, I just don’t know if I can commit to solid days.

Love the simple labeling that Main Brewing uses on their beer. Each label is plain white, with the name, a short description, and a small drawing of a face. Immediately upon opening the beer you can smell how hoppy it is for an Amber, mostly on the citrus end. The flavor is great, and to be honest if I didn’t know any better I would assume it was a caramel heavy IPA. Lots of citrus hop, caramel malt, toffee, grassy, and bready. Very complex for an Amber, and very well done. Mouthfeel is a bit heavy for the style, but it works for all the flavors going on.

Picture of the day: I love Macs, but this is pretty funny.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/beer-397365-maine-beer-company-zoe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is my first time visiting your site. Sorry to hear about the family and personal stuff.

    So it seems you already passed the 365 original goal, that’s cool. I think your photography is excellent as well. As for this beer, I’ve never had it or any from that brewery. I also like the simple label design–reminds me of the Goose Island Belgians–elegant. The flavors sound great too. Maybe next time I get to Maine!

    • Thanks for the comment Rob! I see you are doing something similar. Good luck to you.

  2. Hope all is well. Miss the updates!

  3. Sorry to see the updates have stopped Drew. If this is the end of the site, just wanted to let you know I thoroughly enjoyed the posts over the past year and a half and it was awesome to see you get your hands on so many ridiculous beers. Hope everything is good.

  4. Hope your okay, take care.

  5. Hope all is well……..


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

