Beer 395/365 – Port Brewing Mongo IPA

Port Brewing Mongo IPA

Style: Imperial IPAABV: 8.5%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: Lots of grapefruit/citrus character

Will I be drinking this again: Very good, but not worth trading for.

Grade: A

5/12/2011: My mom lately has become an estate sale junkie. I am a little bit afraid she might end up being featured on an episode of hoarders. Okay thats an exageration, but I do reap the benefits. Which brings me to my next point; the photo you see looks like is distorted, but its not. The glass is a super tall skinny pint glass that my mom bought me from an estate sale. I have a china closet full of beer glasses now, partially due to her estate sale purchases.

The nose is very fruity; orange peel, lemon, and strong grapefruit. This is one of the hoppier Double IPA’s that I have ever had, but thats okay because there are no signs of pine flavored hops (my least favorite flavor in beer). A lot of pale malt flavor, and even a bit of caramel. About average mouth-feel for the style, but the only place this beer is lacking is in hiding the alcohol. The alcohol shows itself a little tiny bit too much, but overall a really good beer.

Picture of the day: Now this is what I call Extreme Parenting.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/beer-395365-port-brewing-mongo-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yo Drew!

    Been hearing alot about Port Brewing these past few days. I hear that they are right up there with Stone, Green Flash, and the other great West Coast brewers. Gonna have to track them down in Philly.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Yeah I will bet you can find some in Philly. There is one bottle shop in pgh that carries post, and he said he gets it from Philly.

  2. Great beer and funny story about mango the cat of the brewery (which is surfing on the sticker)

    …and great blog !


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

