Beer 372/365 – Great Divide Espresso Oak Aged Yeti Imperial Stout

Great Divide Espresso Yeti Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 9.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: The best yeti of the oak aged series for sure.

Will I be drinking this again: Yup my buddy Kevin got me 4 bottles right from the tap-room in Denver.

Grade: A

12/20/2010: Earlier in the year I rounded up all four of the Aged Yeti’s, and this was the last of the oak aged series that I have yet to try. Chocolate and Oak were both very good, but I tend to really like the coffee centered stouts so I am willing to bet this will be my new favorite.

The nose of Espresso Yeti smells as advertised, very Espresso heavy. The flavor is just awesome, rich, roasty, oaky, bittersweet chocolate, and of course a lot of espresso. What I like about the espresso flavor is it isn’t “burnt” like a lot of other coffee flavored beers. I am assuming the beans were possibly steeped and not actually brewed? Would be interested to know. The beer has a great heavy creamy mouthfeel, and finishes a bit dry. Surprisingly drinkable considering how heavy it is. If you are a coffee lover give this one a shot, you will probably love it!

Picture of the day: This is why you don’t leave your kids unsupervised.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/beer-372365-great-divide-espresso-oak-aged-yeti-imperial-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This sounds right up my street!
    I really enjoyed the Oak Aged version and I’m hoping a friend is going to bring me back a bottle of this from Dublin.

    • All three are great in my opinion. Thanks for the comment Rob I love your site!.


Leave a comment