Beer 359/365 – St Bernardus Tripel

St Bernardus Tripel

Style: Tripel

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Lots of pineapple flavor.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, one of my favorite Tripels ever.

Grade: A

11/2/2010: This is only the third St Bernardus beer I have had to date, and it is quickly becoming one of my favorite Belgian breweries. I have had the abt 12, and the Christmas Ale, both of which were excellent. I’m going to have to pick up the prior 8 next time I am up at Vintage Estate.

The nose of this Tripel is fruity as all hell; pineapple, honeydew, honey, and yeast. The flavor isn’t overly complicated in my opinion, but it is really good. Pineapple stands out the most to for sure, pears, honey, and a pinch of white pepper. Medium mouthfeel for the style, with good carbonation. Not quite as creamy as some other tripels out there, but thats about the only knock on this beer in my opinion. I knew St Bernardus made a good tripel, but i didn’t think it would be THIS good.

Picture of the day: What your smart phone says about you.

Published in: on November 2, 2010 at 8:33 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/beer-359365-st-bernardus-tripel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This was the beer that really launched St Bernardus brewery onto the market in that they meant business, and could do other beers than the trappist ones they were linked to at the Westvleteren brewery.

    It is a delicious tripel – only perhaps beaten for me by the Straffe Hendrik.

    I am heading over to Belgium in december and will be picking up a few of the 750ml bottles which are supposed to taste even better.

    You are getting close to 365 – I assume you will keep going? I hope so..

    Belgianbeershrimper

    http://www.belgianbeershrimper.wordpress.com

    • Thanks so much for the history! I always like hearing the back stories when it comes to beer. Yup I am going to keep going, just not every single day.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

