Beer 355/365 – Russian River Consecration

Russian River Consecration

Style: American Wild Ale

ABV: 10.0%

Purchased at: Kevin from Denver bought it for me at some store out there in the Hippy Hills.

What makes this beer different: Sour as hell! Kind of Wine-like as well.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe, won’t go out of my way for it though.

Grade: B+

10/29/2010: Alright so this is my first time drinking a beer of this style, so I have no idea what to expect. I also might not be able to pick up all the exact nuances to this beer because of it being my first of this style. Russian River seems to be on the forefront of Wild Ale’s so hopefully this is a good one.

The nose is funky and sour, with a red wine like quality to it. The first sip can only be described as offensive. If I didn’t know ahead of time this beer was supposed to be so sour, I would have spit it out. Admittedly this grows on you as you drink it more and the beer coats your mouth. The flavors are sour cherry, red wine, tobacco, some oak, and towards the end of the second glass I am getting some sweet berries. Mouthfeel is slick, wine-like, and not very carbonated. The beer started off as a B-, and ended as an A once I got used to the flavor; therefore I am giving this a B+.

Picture of the day: The purple shirted eye-stabber.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/beer-355365-russian-river-consecration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heh, yeah, sours are the hardest to get accustomed to, but once you do its like trading, addiction city. I started with a few local stuff, cheaper and sweeter until I worked up to Russian River, now it’s hard not to plow through my whole stock.

    on a side note, if you need me to take any Russian Rivers off your hands I guess I could bite the bullet and dispose of them for you.

    • Lol thanks for the offer but this was the only Russian River beer I had sitting around at all. Would be interested to try more american wilds but looks like there aren’t many available around my area.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

