Beer 308/386 – Victory Moonglow

Victory Moonglow

Style: Weizenbock

ABV: 8.7%

Purchased at: Had this at Ryan’s house after the Steeler game.

What makes this beer different: Its like Aventinus’ little brother.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes as I just mentioned, it is similar enough to Aventinus, and less expensive.

Grade: A-

9/12/2010: Had this beer at Ryan’s dads house after the Steeler game. We also drank some of his homebrews, which are pretty damn good. He has equipment for all grain, so my next homebrew will probably be made at his house. I plan on trying to make a gingerbread porter for the Christmas months.

Tons and tons of yeast floating around in this beer. Instantly the smell reminds me of Aventinus; fruity, dark malts, even some chocolate. The flavor again, very similar to Aventinus, but a little bit sweeter. Lots of dark fruit, toffee, banana, wheat, a little bit of vanilla as well. I never thought I would say this when I started drinking craft beer, but moonglow is almost a little too sweet. Mouthfeel is a bit full, with average carbonation. Overall as I have mentioned already, I would consider this Aventinus’ little less refined brother.

Picture of the day: Funny and sexually charged photos.

Published in: on September 12, 2010 at 12:01 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/beer-308386-victory-moonglow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. [...] and say I have no idea why the weizenbock style varies so much in color. I am used to Aventinus and Victory Moonglow that are a much darker color than Vitus. The nose is kind of boozy, banana, and no sign at all of [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

