Beer 292/365 – Sprecher Black Bavarian

Sprecher Black Bavarian

Style: Schwarzbier

ABV: 6.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate Wine & Beer – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: It might be the best Schwarzbier I have ever had.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, and I’ll be this would make an awesome marinade for some steaks.

Grade: A

8/27/2010: One of my readers recommended I try some Sprecher beer, but I cannot remember who? Well whoever it was thanks. I didn’t know which specific beer to grab, so I just purchased the one that looked the most interesting.

The nose is burnt caramel sugar, similar to what a cotton candy machine might smell like (not the candy itself, but the sweet burnt smell). Also smells like some chocolate in the mix? The flavor took be by surprise as I was not expecting much. A lot of stout characteristics, smashed into a lager style beer. Really nice chocolate, some roasted caramel malts, a light smokey wood type flavor, and finishes with a dry earthy type kick. Very complex and a lot of nice flavors going on here. Even with all these heavy flavors, Sprecher Black Bavarian comes off “crisp” in an odd way. The over-average carbonation helps make it very drinkable for a heavy-ish beer. No question this is one of the best lagers I have ever had.

Picture of the day: Someone is overtly creepy.

Published in: on August 27, 2010 at 8:23 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/beer-292365-sprecher-black-bavarian/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’re welcome, glad you got to try some Sprecher! I’m heading up to VE this weekend, hopefully they’ll have a few varieties that I haven’t tried yet.

  2. Hi there, Drew. I stumbled over here while showing a friend in the Czech Republic a picture of my beloved Black Bavarian (great photo, by the way!) and I must applaud your fine selection! As a lover of Schwarzbier (discovered the awesome of a fine Schwarzbier in my recent undergraduate wanderings in Germany) and Wisconsinite, Sprecher is both a beloved micro-brewery and the producer of–in my opinion–the best black beer in America (Germany still has better ones). Of course, I have only had this, Stevens Point 2012 (a black ale, not lager) and New Belgium 1554 (also ale) for American black beers.

    If you get a chance (and if you have not already blogged about it), try to find Köstrizter Schwarzbier, from the Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei, (Bad Köstritz, Thüringen, Germany). It’s the oldest black beer still produced (and black beer brewery) in Germany, being some 500ish years old. Popular legend says the famed German writer J.W. Goethe survived on the stuff while very ill, though I don’t know if there are facts to support this. Even if it’s just a legend, it’s a bloody delicious one!

    Happy blogging and prost! (Vergessen Sie nicht: immer in den Augen gucken!)

    ~Andreas

    • Andreas, Thanks for the reply and sorry for taking so long to get back to you. Thanks for the backstory on the Kostritzer. I will def keep my eyes open for the ones you mentioned. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

