Beer 290/365 – Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPA

Sierra Nevada Torpedo IPA

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.2%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: I usually am not much for how a beer looks, but this is a tasty looking beer.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe, a little bit on the bitter end for me but it was good.

Grade: B+

8/25/2010: Been wanting to try Torpedo for a while now, but just recently got around to buying a fresh one. I surprisingly have not had the Pale Ale in my prior 289 beers yet, maybe I should pick that up on my next beer run?

Torpedo has a very unique smell to it, citrus, grapefuit, and .. dirt? Not sure how to explain the smell I am getting. The flavor has all kinds of stuff going on, toasted malt, slightly herbal, citrus hops, and a little bit of pine. One sip I love the mix, the next I’m not so sure. That exchange continues until about halfway through the beer, then it really starts to meld together well. The mouthfeel is semi-creamy for the style, and not “sharp” like some IPAs. Overall very good, and pretty unique for an American IPA.

Picture of the day: What it was like being drunk at 18.

Published in: on August 25, 2010 at 9:26 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers