Beer 284/365 – Harpoon Summer Beer

Harpoon Summer Beer

Style: Kolsch

ABV: 5.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate - Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Dry and pretty refreshing

Will I be drinking this again: I won’t go out of my way to drink it, but if someone handed me a bottle on a warm summer day I would for sure drink it.

Grade: B

8/19/2010: I was running out of good summer beers that I had knowledge about, so i posted up a few weeks ago askinf for suggestions. I picked this beer up on a recommendation from one of the replies in that thread (Thanks Corey). I also ended up picking up their IPA as well, mostly because it was only $1.49.

I will admit I am by no means an expert on the Kolsch style, but I will try to be as accurate as possible here. The nose is very grainy, with a little bit of spice thrown in the mix. The flavor is mostly a malty grain type, with a handful of noble hops, and a little bit of lemon. Very light bodied and average carbonation. This was a very easy drinking beer, but nothing really stood out to me. It certainly was a beer that went down very easy on a warm summer evening.

Picture of the day: English… and how to speak it

Published in: on August 19, 2010 at 10:32 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers