Beer 282/365 – Lagunitas Little Sumpin’ Sumpin’ Ale

Lagunitas Little Sumpin  Sumpin Ale

Style: American Pale Wheat Ale

ABV: 7.3%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate - Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: A bit strong for a APWA, but this is a welcome change.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, this is now one of mt favorite summer beers.

Grade: A

8/17/2010: American Pale Wheat Ale was a style I have never even heard of before starting this blog, but I am glad I decided to try a few brews from this style. It is quickly becoming my favorite style of beer for the summer. If you gave me a mix of this beer, Raging Bitch, and Gumball Head for the summer I think I would be a happy camper. Thanks to reader Chris for suggesting this beer to me.

Little Sumpin Sumpin doesn’t have any sign of wheat in the nose, its pretty much all about hops. The flavor is similar to the smell, tons of juicy hop flavor without being too bitter. Lots of citrus/grapefruit like flavors, with only a little bit of a hint of wheat. A year ago I would have hated a beer with this type of flavor profile, but I am really starting to appreciate the flavor a good batch of hops can gives to a brew. Mouthfeel is pretty creamy for the style, and very well carbonated. Pleasantly surprised by this one.

Picture of the day: Texas Sized

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers