Beer 274/365 – Avery Karma

Avery Karma

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

ABV: 5.2%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Doesn’t represent the style in the least.

Will I be drinking this again: No sir, no sir I don’t like it.

Grade: C+

8/9/2010: Picked this one up on a whim because I have never heard of it and the label was pretty nifty looking. I keep telling myself to stop buying beer you know nothing about, because most of the time there is a reason you have never heard of it. Oh well it was only $1.69.

Karma smells pretty malty for a BPA, lots of caramel malt. Not a whole lot to the flavors, full of caramel malt, a little bit of citrus, and no hops to speak of. The mouthfeel is where they really failed on this one. Its almost as if Avery Brewing didn’t even use a belgian yeast for this beer. If I was drinking this blindfolded I would have never guessed this to be a Belgian Pale Ale. Average mouthfeel and well carbonated, but not the kind of carbonation you typically get in a Belgian. Avoid Avery Karma if possible.

Picture of the day: Not a funny picture, actually its really sad.

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 8:12 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers