Beer 273/365 – Dogfish Head Theobroma

Dogfish Head Theobroma

Style: Chile Beer

ABV: 9.0%

Purchased at: On Tap@Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: This beer is a mess to be honest, crazy flavors coming from every direction.

Will I be drinking this again: No way.

Grade: C

8/8/2010: I had this after a long day of golf in the 90 degree weather. I got 10 of my friends together to golf for my birthday, and I bought a cooler with mixed cans from Sly Fox (Royal Weisse), Oskar Blues (Yella Pils), and Bud Light Lime… Yes Bud Light Lime… Lets be honest its not THAT bad for a summer beer. Plus not everyone going to my outing was a craft beer head.

The smells is mostly spicy, with a little bit of sweet honey. The flavors are all over the place. There is a lactose type flavor, a little bit of heat from the chiles, some black pepper, and some sweet malt. No sign of the cocoa nibs that were used I give Sam credit for trying to brew something to be historically accurate to the recipe they found (more info here), but the flavors just dont mix well. The only saving quality for this beer was the 9.0% ABV was very well hidden. Mouthfeel was a little heavy and very under carbonated.

Picture of the day: This bear has problems.

Published in: on August 8, 2010 at 7:46 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers