Beer 271/365 – Flying Dog Raging Bitch

Flying Dog Raging Bitch

Style: Belgian IPA

ABV: 8.3%

Purchased at: Sent to me as an extra by Jared

What makes this beer different: This beer convinced me that I need to drink more Belgian IPA’s

Will I be drinking this again: Hell yeah, this beer is awesome. Almost perfect marriage between an American IPA and a Belgian Tripel.

Grade: A

8/6/2010: Is this seriously my first Belgian IPA so far? I know I have had a few in the past (Chouffe, Piraat, Wild Devil), but I don’t remember any of them really wowing me. I’m actually kind of surprised this isn’t a more popular style here in the states. The belgian yeast used really cuts of the “sharpness” that hops tend to give to regular American IPAs. Which would be appealing to people who like the flavor of hops, but not the bitterness.

The nose is full of the classic slightly funky belgian yeast, with some “vibrant” citrus hop characteristics. The flavor really took me by surprise as I wasn’t expecting much. The first thing you notice even before the flavor is the mouthfeel, so creamy and amazing. You get that zesty light citrus punch usually associated with a Tripel, with a handful of hops hitting you on the way down. I know I keep saying this, but it really is an almost perfect yin and yang of an American IPA and Belgian. There is a ton of flavor going on for a beer of this style, and I forgot to mention that the ABV is hidden very very well. Do yourself a favor and pick one of these up if you have never tried it. Thanks Jared!

Picture of the day: I think they ripped this comic off from one of my favorite and most underrated comedies ever, Grandma’s Boy. Still funny though.

Published in: on August 6, 2010 at 12:41 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers