Beer 270/365 – Great Divide 16th Anniversary Wood Aged IPA

Great Divide 16th Anniversary

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.0%

Purchased at: On Tap@Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: The first wood aged IPA I have ever tried, not too shabby!

Will I be drinking this again: Bought a bomber of it so yes!

Grade: B

8/5/2010: Yet another 45 minute trip to my mecca, Vintage Estate in Boardman OH. This time the “excuse” was for a vertical Stone RIS tasting; 2006-2010. For $20 you recieved 4oz samples of Vertical Epic 09, Stone RIS 06-10, and Double Bastard. Its pretty amazing how different each year tasted, and as expected the 2006 RIS was the stand out. I bought a bottle to take home for $17.95, which actually isn’t all that bad for how good it was. I bought the GD anniversary ale AFTER tasting all these beers, so admittedly my palette may have been somewhat blown at this point.

16th Anniversary smells very malty for a double IPA. Not too much of the wood comes through in the flavor, to be honest I’m not sure I would have been able to pick it out if “wood” wasn’t in the name. The flavor is mostly sweet malt, with not too much hop presence at first. Once the beer warms some oily pine/grapefruit hop starts poking through. Not quite enough carbonation to this, and it could have used it because it was pretty syrupy. Overall not bad, but I bought a bottle to try on its own so I can give this a bit more of a fair assessment.

Picture of the day: I really need to do this.. My neighbors have three jack russel terriers that bark from 6am-11pm NON-stop.

Published in: on August 5, 2010 at 11:55 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers