Beer 269/365 – Buzzards Bay Black Lager

Buzzards Bay Black Lager

Style: Schwarzbier

ABV: 5.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade

What makes this beer different: Kind of minerally, not terrible though

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not.

Grade: B

8/4/2010: So turns out this beer has been retired? No idea when this was brewed but lagers don’t exact age well, so I don’t expect this beer to knock my socks off. Honestly I’m not even sure if the profile I found on BA is the right one? Is this brewed by “Just Beer Brewing Co?.” I don’t recall seeing it on the label, and the bottle is at home in my basement as I type this so I can’t check.

The nose of this beer is nothing special, just very malty. The flavor is mostly “roasty”, a little bit of burnt chocolate, a little bit of smoke, and a punch of this minerally/iron type flavor that you sometimes get when you sample an older lager. The flavor isn’t terrible, but its not super pleasing. The mouthfeel is about average, and very very carbonated. Not terrible, but nothing special.

Picture of the day: From one of my favorite video games growing up, fish hadouken.

Published in: on August 4, 2010 at 10:50 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers