Beer 214/365 – Stone Ruination IPA

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 7.70%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different:

Will I be drinking this again:

Grade: A-

6/10/2010: I know Stone is one of the most popular craft breweries around, but I actually haven’t had a lot of their beer. I had a traumatic experience with an arrogant bastard a few years back before I was into hops/strong beer. I made a vague generalization that all Stone beers had to be strong and hoppy, which of course is not the case. Now that I am a bit more edumacated on the subject, I am going to give a lot more Stone Brew a chance.

Ruination is pretty damn pungent smelling. Lots of hops going on here, and honestly I can’t pick out the exact variations but it smells pretty fruity. This is one of the most intensely hoppy beers I have ever had, yet its not overpowering. The combination of hops are in your face, without being overly bitter; very well done. The malt is a bit subdued for my taste, but it doesn’t matter much because I am really enjoying the hops going on. The mouthfeel is the real winner here, so creamy and smooth with just enough carbonation.

Picture of the day: I love soccer, still play every Tuesday, but wow the diving that goes on these days is unreal.

Published in: on June 10, 2010 at 10:28 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,