Beer 164-365 – Flying Dog Gonzo Imperial Porter

Style: Baltic Porter

ABV: 7.8%

Purchased at: One of my winnings from the superbowl poll

What makes this beer different: Strong but very drinkable

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, this beer just jumped onto the top of my “favorite porter” list.

Grade: A

4/21/2010: Is this really my first beer from Maryland? I guess they really don’t have a lot of big time breweries down there so maybe this isn’t such a big surprise. On that note if you ever want to see what beers I have had from a certain state just click in the tag cloud along the right-hand column.

Huge head on the pour of this beer. I had to sit around for a few minutes for it to die down until I would pour out the entire beer. Gonzo has a lot more of a hop smell than I thought it would, with some chocolate there also. The taste is very complex for a porter, roasty, pine/citrus hops, a lot of chocolate. I am sure there are more little flavors going on, but those are the main ones that hit me. A lot of nice carbonation, almost “airy”. Finished pretty dry. Semi creamy mouthfeel, actually if I didn’t know this was a Porter I would have guessed it was a stout. Hides the semi-high ABV very well also. I liked this beer much more than I thought I would.

Picture of the day: 25 odd and funny album covers.

Published in: on April 21, 2010 at 9:42 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/beer-164-365-flying-dog-gonzo-imperial-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awesome name and label, I’m a huge Hunter S Thompson fan, hehe.

    • I actually never even know who he was until I started reading a bit more about the beer. I do like his style.

      • You should definitely read some of his stuff, he’s my favourite writer, he’s crazy, hehe.

        I have a collection of his quotes on my blog somewhere, I think.

        • Oh so he is an author and artist? very cool

          • He’s not an artist. The art is done by Ralph Steadman, an english guy who did a lot of the drawings for Hunter’s books and articles.

          • ahhhh ok, sweet I will have to check out Ralph’s stuff then haha

  2. Good beer there man.

    I noticed you haven’t tried a lot of beers from Ohio. I suggest trying the Great Lakes Brewing Company’s Edmund Fitzgerald, which is an amazing porter, or the Columbus Brewing Company’s IPA, it’s superb. Both are worth getting your hands on.

    • I actually have had most of the GL beers in the past, I am trying to get beers that I have never tried before. Although trust me I do love Great Lakes/Thirsty Dog/Hopping Frog (BORIS is great stuff). I wish I could find some BA Blackout Stout!

      I haven’t heard of the Columbus IPA… do they bottle it?

  3. I threw a couple of these in my “cellar” for about a year and a 1/2 and they really mellowed out. Smooth and delicious.

    • Yeah I will probably go pick a 6 pack of this up if I can find it anywhere.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

