Beer 160/365 – Captain Lawrence Xtra Gold Tripel

Style: Tripel

ABV: 10.0%

Purchased at: One of the bottles I won via the superbowl block poll on beeradvocate

What makes this beer different: Fluffiest head I have ever seen on a beer, even more than Duvel.

Will I be drinking this again: Pretty sure they don’t distribute to PA, but if they did I would for sure buy more of this.

Grade: A

4/17/2010: How do you like the green walls at my buddies fishing camp? Gotta love fishing camp though. My buddies pap is 87, and was up doing snakebite shots at 2am with us. As far as the beer I have to be honest in saying that I have never heard of Captain Lawrence Brewing before I got this bottle. After looking up some of their beer it looks like they brew some good stuff. I have never seen any Captain Lawrence on the shelves here in the burgh but I will have to keep an eye out now.

Tons of fluffy head Very sweet smelling, typical yeasty smell you get with a belgian, and a good bit of fruity action going on also. The taste really took me by surprise. Its a complex flavor, but at the same time no one ingredient is out doing the others. Sweet rock candy type flavor is the first thing you notice, with some nice citrus flavor going on also. Floral hops finish of the main trifecta of flavors, which is pretty unexpected for a belgian. Flavors aren’t super intense, which makes this very drinkable. Mouthfeel is perfectly creamy. To be honest Xtra Gold Tripel probably got the closest on mouthfeel to an Authentic Belgian more than any other US brewed Belgian I have ever had. Did not expect this beer to be as good as it was.

Picture of the day: I try not to be too political on here, but sometimes I just can’t help it, especially when its funny and points out hypocrisy. The Daily Show and Colbert Report are probably two of my favorite shows on TV. Here is Jon Stewarts take on the latest with Goldman Sachs.

Published in: on April 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/beer-160365-captain-lawrence-xtra-gold-tripel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

