Beer 149/365 – Victory Golden Monkey

Style: Tripel

ABV: 9.5%

Purchased at: Sent to me by the guys at SCAATB

What makes this beer different: Pretty close to a “Real” Belgian, but not quite

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, it is a pretty solid belgian beer for being american made, and reasonably priced.

Grade: B+

4/6/2010: Ugh, been so busy lately that I have been forced to drink my beer in the 10-11 o’clock hour. Makes me feel like a lush drinking so late on a work night. I work at the Mellon Arena as an usher (to watch the pens for free), and on days that I work I don’t end up getting home until 10:30-11pm. Maybe I will start getting up earlier on those days, and instead of coffee I will drink a good coffee stout?

Thanks to Gary and Guy again for sending this to me. Wow there is a TON of yeast in his mad boy. Almost looks like a snow globe in my chalice. The smell is heavy on banana and yeast. Taste is a good bit of banana, and a little spiciness. The alcohol is hidden pretty well, but peeks out a little bit too much. Mouthfeel is close to a true Belgium brewed Belgian beer, but I have yet to drink an American brewed Belgian that really gets that amazing mouthfeel you get with a true belgian beer. This does get close though!

Picture of the day: The subway sandwich artists must have failedGeometry.

Published in: on April 6, 2010 at 9:11 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/beer-149365-victory-golden-monkey/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Golden Monkey is such a good and complex beer. You really don’t get much better for an American Triple


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

