Beer 130/365 -Founder’s Kentucky Breakfast Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 11.2%

Purchased at: Given to me by Andy

What makes this beer different: So complex, and perfectly boozy

Will I be drinking this again: Yes yes yes

Grade: A+

3/18/2010: Another beer given to me by Andy from Michigan. This bottle is a 2009 so it has already been aged a year, well two including the one that it is aged before it is even put onto shelves. So pumped to try this because as I’m sure a lot of you know Imperial Stouts are my go to. Thanks again Andy!

KBS smells mostly like roasted coffee, with some bourbon and chocolate hints. The first sip can only be described as “wow.” So many flavors going on, all are very strong but in perfect balance. A lot of coffee/chocolate flavor, followed by bourbon and some woody notes. As I get to the bottom I am starting to get some vanilla as well. Some nice hop presence also. Very boozy but in a good way. Similar to that feeling you get after a long week at work and you drink a strong jack and coke. Mouthfeel was not quite as thick as I expected, but still on the thick side of average. This doesn’t quite uproot Speedway Stout from my #1 stout spot, but it came very close. If you are a beer lover I am sure I don’t need to tell you to buy this if you see it.

Picture of the day: I would love to know what this cat is looking at.

Published in: on March 18, 2010 at 8:48 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers