Beer 129/365 – Dark Horse Too Cream Stout

Style: Milk Stout

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Siciliano’s Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Strong for a Milk Stout but hides the ABV Extremely well.

Will I be drinking this again: If I can find it in the Pgh area

Grade: A-

3/17/2010: Its been a while since I have had a stout, so time to go back to my conmfort zone. This is the third of the “fore” series of stouts by Dark Horse that I am trying. The smoked and blueberry stouts were both great beers, so hoping this one is also.

Smell is a ton of roasted coffee, with some dark malt scent. Tons and tons of flavor for a beer with a low/mid mouthfeel. Coffee is top of the list, followed by a solid lactic (milk) sweetness, ending with a dry hop flavor. So much flavor, my brain keeps telling me this beer should be thicker but I think thats why its so good. I also had no clue this was an 8.0% ABV beer, I would have guessed no more than a 6. No sign of the alcohol at all. If you see this on the shelves grab a couple.

Picture of the day: ****NOT SAFE FOR WORK**** Also not a picture, if you guys haven’t read it yet, check out the texts that Tiger sent to one of his mistresses.

Published in: on March 17, 2010 at 8:36 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers