Beer 128/365 – Bell’s Consecrator Dopplebock

Style: Dopplebock

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: A hint of barleywine flavor to this bad boy (strong)

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe? Depends what else I have to choose from that day

Grade: B+

3/16/2010: I am a sucker for a good dopplebock, and have yet to try Bell’s Consecrator. To be honest other than Hopslam, there aren’t any beers that Bell’s makes that I go out of my way to find. I sampled batch 9000 and it was good, but it needs some age to it.

Its weird, Consecrator has little to no smell at all… A little bit of malt and booze, but thats it. This is very sweet, a lot of molasses, dark rum type flavor (where the barleywineishness kicks in, and yes thats a word), with a decent hop profile. I’m also getting a bit of butterscotch flavor the closer I get to the bottom. A good amount of carbonation, which helps mask the alcohol just enough for it to be very drinkable.

Picture of the day: Remember fellas, ladies like a little foreplay.

Published in: on March 16, 2010 at 8:34 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers