Beer 125/365 – Wexford Irish Creme Ale

Style: Irish Red Ale

ABV: 5.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Tastes like caramel syrup mixed with soda water

Will I be drinking this again: No way

Grade: C-

3/13/2010: Happy St Patty’s day! Picked this one up last time I visited VE. Figured it would be a cool beer to try for St Patty’s. Plus Nitro Cans are pretty nifty little contraptions. I would say about 95% of the beer I buy now, I usually have a good idea about the reputation of the brewery or quality of the actual beer itself before purchasing. I know sounds crazy to some, but I figure if I am going to put all this time, money and effort into this 365 beer project I might as well make sure the beer I am buying is good. Well this was a case where I never heard of the beer, and was pulled in by the fancy looking can. Never judge a beer by its label.

The pour was very nice, similar to how a Guinness with the “upside-down waterfall effect.” The first 2/3 ounces actually poured out just like half and half, then jumped right into a copper color. The smell is caramel malt and some lactose type smell. The taste is mostly caramel malt, but it is very watered down. Then the aftertaste brings a sharp metallic/mineral type of flavor that just totally kills the beer. Cara disliked hers so much she couldn’t even finish it. Avoid this beer!

Picture of the day: One of my favorite video games of all time, but these guys have way too much time on their hands.

Published in: on March 13, 2010 at 8:15 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers