Beer 121/365 – Brooklyn Cookie Jar Porter

Style: American Porter

Purchased at: Won via superbowl block poll on beeradvocate

What makes this beer different: Really does taste like an oatmeal raisin cookie.

Will I be drinking this again: Hopefully they brew it again.

Grade: A

3/9/2010: Almost had a chance to try Cookie Jar Porter on tap at Regional Food and Drink in Washington DC. It was on the tap list, we ordered it, waitress comes back and said they JUST ran out. Don’t you hate that? So I was pretty pumped when I had this sent to me after winning the superbowl block poll on BA.

The smell is cinnamon, chocolate, and a sweet fruit smell I can’t put my finger on. The taste is very good, a lot of tart raisin, caramel malt/cinnamon/brown sugar fall in line second, and finishes of with a smooth oatmeal stoutlike texture with a dash of chocolate. Hides the 7.8% alcohol very very well. I doubt many places are still going to have this on tap but grab a pint if you see it!

Picture of the day: Babysitting is a rough job.

Published in: on March 9, 2010 at 9:43 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers