Beer 118/365 – Ballast Point Sculpin

Style: American IPA

Purchased at: The Library – Pittsburgh PA

What makes this beer different: Fruits and hops all over the place.

Will I be drinking this again: If I can find it again.

Grade: B+

3/6/2010: Today was the day of the big Pittsburgh Beer Tasting at the Library in the south side. So much good beer at the event. Ithaca Brute, Russian River Beatification, CL Smoke From the Oak, Pliny the Elder, New Glarus Iced Barleywine, Noreaster etc etc. Was pretty amazed at the beer here especially for it being the first ever beer tasting through BA. My favorite might have been the Founder’s Nemesis. So so good. Anyways staying true to having one full beer per day, I opted for the Sculpin. I didn’t even realize we got Ballast Point in Pittsburgh.

The smell is actually kind of fruity/citrusy, with a lot of hop action. Very bitter hop flavor, that finishes almost resiny. A good bit of fruit flavor, can’t quite put my finger on the taste. Not a lot of malt for the hops to stand on, maybe a dash of pale malt and thats it. Medium mouthfeel with nice carbonation. I am really starting to like DIPA’s, but IPA’s are still a work in progress.I like having a little more malt in my hoppy beer, but still a very solid beer. But if you are a “hophead” I am sure you will love it.

Picture of the day: I need to know where I can buythese balloons. Hilarious.

Published in: on March 6, 2010 at 10:52 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers