Beer 117/365 – Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout

Style: Oatmeal Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: This beer is the benchmark for Oatmeal Stouts in my opinion.

Will I be drinking this again: For sure.

Grade: A

3/5/2010: I worked up a nice little stash of Sam Smith’s beer that is just waiting to be drunkened. It’s so damn inexpensive at Vintage Estate that I went a bit crazy the first time I visited and bought 6/7 different ones.

Smell is dark malt and some sweetness. Taste is so smooth. This to me is what an Oatmeal Stout should taste like. Roasted malt, a slight creamy taste, coffee flavor, some earthiness, and a bit of caramel. The mouth-feel is what really makes this, thick for an Oatmeal Stout, but so damn smooth. This is also a good gateway beer to get your non-craft beer friends into stouts.

Picture of the day: God loves macaroni & cheese.

Published in: on March 5, 2010 at 9:20 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers