Beer 113/365 – Short’s Brew Good Humans

Style: American Brown Ale

Purchased at: Siciliano’s Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: A war between hops and sweet

Will I be drinking this again: If it was readily accessible hell yes

Grade: A-

3/1/2010: I recently picked up a light box for super super cheap from meritline.com, figured it would be fun to mess with for taking beer pictures. So the next dozen or so pictures will probably be with a plain white background until I get sick of the light box haha.

Onto the beer. Its a damn shame short’s doesn’t distribute farther because they make some really good beer. The beer starts of very hoppy for a brown ale, but with some malt in the background. Midway through it was pretty even with malt/hops, and by the end the sweet malt completely took over. It was a war between sweet malt and citrus hops, with malt coming out on top. The difference in taste between the first and last tastes were huge. If I would have took those two sips seperately I would have thought it was a completely different beer. There was also some traces of brown sugar and coffee. The mouthfeel was very syrupy, almost too syrupy for me. That says a lot since I like sweet beer. Overall a very original flavor for a brown ale, just wish it wasn’t SO sweet at the end.

Picture of the day: This isn’t so much funny, but something from my childhood. Anyone remember Ecto-Cooler?

Published in: on March 1, 2010 at 9:36 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers