Beer 51 – Chimay Grand Reserve

Style: Belgian Strong Dark Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Drinkable as hell for 9% ABV

Will I be drinking this again: Pricey but yes

Grade: A-

12/29/2009: A couple months back I picked up a Chimay gift pack for $16 from Vintage Estate that included the Grand Reserve, Tripel, Premiere and the Chimay Chalice. That same gift pack in Pittsburgh runs $26-$28 so I couldn’t pass it up. Plus the chalice might just be the coolest looking beer drinking apparatus ever created.

Onto the beer. The Chimay Blue (Grand Reserve) is widely regarded as one of the best of the Belgian Trappist beers, and I would have to agree. This isn’t quite as good as my favorite beer of all time Trappistes Rochefort 8, but it is top tier.

The head on this beer is awesome and what you expect from a Belgian Dark. I have to say when people compare the taste of beers to dark fruits; currants/figs/plums, I am not able to pick that out. Mostly because I have never tasted any of these fruits on their own. All I know is this is a super easy drink for a 9% ABV beer. The taste and mouthfeel is actually much more mild that what I was expecting, but again it amazes me that they can pull this off while maintaining 9% alcohol by volume. If this beer was just a tiny bit sweeter I would have given it an A or A+. You have probably tried the Chimay Red (Premiere), but you need to give this one a try as well.

Published in: on December 29, 2009 at 9:57 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/beer-51-chimay-grand-reserve/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

