Beer 48 – Lagunitas Brown Shugga

Style: American Strong Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Sweet but hoppy at the same time

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: A-

12/26/2009: I totally expected this beer to be sweet to the core when I first tasted it, but boy was I wrong. If you read my blog often you know I am not a fan of hops, but I have to say they are starting to grow on me. This beer is proof of that.

Hops smack you right in the face as soon as you sip this, but as soon as you get about a 1/3 of the way finished with the beer the sweetness takes over. Brown sugar and caramel really start to kick in at this point, but the citrusy hops are still there. If I am going to drink a hoppy beer, it has to have some sweetness as well, and this one fits the bill.

Published in: on December 26, 2009 at 8:06 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/26/beer-48-lagunitas-brown-shugga/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Lagunitas is one of my favorites… and, glad that the hops is growin’ on you. I can understand that you like Porter and Stout. They’re good, but on a hot summer say there is nothing like a frosty IPA to cool the heat!

    • Yeah all these sweet heavy beers were starting to get a bit sweet for me so I decided to buy a few IPAs and more hoppy beers. I am going to give dogfish 120min a try in the next week!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

