Beer 43 – Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale

Style: American Strong Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Bourbon with Caramel

Will I be drinking this again: If I can find it again

Grade: A-

12/21/2009: This is the first beer on my list I have had from Kentucky so I think its suitable to have the logo for the brewery be the first thing I think of when I think of Kentucky; a horse. The picture of the gift pack above is actually going to be sent off in a trade.

I had this on tap at Vintage Estate, but forgot my camera. Admittedly when I first read the description on the wall I expected this to be a stout, but it came out light so I had to do a double take at the board and then realized it was an Ale. I was ready for the bourbon to kick me in the ass from the get go especially because this is an ale, but it did not at all. Bourbon without a doubt hits you first, but it immediately jumps into a caramel and light vanilla aftertaste. Unlike the Founders Backwoods Bastard, I was able to take this one down without somewhat hating bourbon at the end (Note that I love Whiskey/Bourbon). This beer was very unique and I will be drinking this again for sure.

Have you had a bourbon/whiskey beer you like? Let me know because I am really starting to like this type of beer.

Published in: on December 21, 2009 at 8:57 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers