Beer 36 – Trappistes Rochefort 6

Picture will be added later today. I attached it wrong from my home computer this morning.

Style: Belgian Dark Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Granny Smith Apple aftertaste

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: A

12/14/2009: Over the next few days I’m going to be drinking each of the 3 varieties of Trappistes Rochfort; 6, 8, and 10. There are plenty of Belgian breweries, but only 7 authentic trappist breweries. Six from Belgium (Orval, Chimay, Westvleteren, Rochefort, Westmalle and Achel), one from The Netherlands (Koningshoeven). A trappist brewery must brew its beer within the walls of the abbey, and profit is only to be used to sustain the abbey, or be given to charity. You will see the logo to the right on an authentic trappist beer. I am a bit of a history buff so I find this stuff interesting.

Anywho onto the actual beer. This is a very smooth beer even for a Belgian. Can’t put my finger on the actual fruit flavors I am getting but apple is for sure one of them, but it doesn’t jump out at you. A lot of Belgian beers almost border on too sweet, but this one is just perfect. Super smooth. Give it a try.

Published in: on December 14, 2009 at 8:46 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers