Beer 28 – Ken Schmidt / Maui / Stone Kona Coffee Macadamia Coconut Porter

Style: American Porter

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Super smooth coconut and nut flavor

Will I be drinking this again: If I can find it… yes

Grade: A+

12/6/2009: Longest beer name ever right? This beer was a three way collaboration between Stone’s head brewer, Maui’s head brewer, and a famous home brewer. Sets of three are usually a good thing, 3 stooges, 3 rivers (da burgh), 3 somes? Sure why not. Okay maybe 3 mile island didn’t turn out so well but theres always an exception to the rule.

When I purchased this I didn’t realize it was such a rare beer, and now I know why. I would have to say this might be the best porter I have EVER had. Mild coffee hits you first, then a savory nutty type flavor, and the aftertaste has a small hit of coconut. It all blends perfect. The only thing that would have made this better would be a smidgen more coconut flavor. If you come across this one, get a few because you will want more. I paid 6 bucks for one and it was WELL worth it.

Published in: on December 6, 2009 at 10:51 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers